My Mask

I had to fix my mask today, it was crumpled and the strap was torn.

I had removed it too hastily I am afraid. I threw it off in celebration of a love affair, besides it was old and worn.

She liked me without it too, I could breathe and I felt liberated.

I laughed, and when she kissed me I could feel it, I mean really feel it,

But then I remembered that it covered the pain I hated.

And when I hurt it really hurt.

I had to fix my mask today. I made a new strap for it, one that won’t ever break.

Now when I cry no one can see my tears, they see my face and it’s fake.

But I’d rather they know me, for who they think I am

Than pity me, because I’ve been damned.

Leave a Reply

